Have you been charged with driving on a suspended license? You want a skilled Georgia Suspended License Lawyer on your side.
Drivers get their licenses suspended for a variety of reasons. Even though the penalties are severe, many still choose to continue to drive with a suspended license.
Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License
A first conviction for driving on a suspended license will result in between 2 days and 12 months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.
The penalties for the second or third conviction within five years increase to between 10 days and 12 months in jail and a fine between $1,000.00 and $2,500.00.
Common Causes of Driver’s License Suspensions
- Criminal Convictions-certain criminal convictions can result in license suspension or revocation. These include:
- Driving Under the Influence [“DUI”] of drugs or alcohol
- Driving without insurance
- Vehicular homicide
- Traffic Tickets and Point Suspensions
- If you accumulate 15 or more points in 24 months, your driver’s license will be suspended.
- I suggest that you review your record on the Department of Driver’s Services’ website.
- Failing to Pay Child Support
- An unsatisfied personal injury judgment against you may suspend your driver’s license or driving privilege. O.C.G.A. § 40-9-61
How to Avoid License Suspensions in Georgia
- Do not drive without insurance.
- Make sure to either go to court or pay your tickets. If you don’t, the Georgia Department of Driver Services has the authority to suspend your license.
- Do not drive on a suspended license. If you do and are convicted, there will be an additional six months added to your suspension.
Seeking Help for Driving After Being Charged with Driving on a Suspended License
Always hire a lawyer! Diwan Law will help you think through your options and help you choose your best option.